//
you're reading...
Breakfast, Brunch, Chocolates, Pancake, Toronto

Recipe: Good Old Fashioned Pancakes


Just in time for Saturday morning’s breakfast!

I’d only ever made Aunt Jemima pancakes when I was younger so when I found this recipe for pancakes on Allrecipes.com (with 4.5 stars and 3,327 reviews!), I had to try it. It’s easily the best pancake recipe, ever, and the only one I use and will continue to use from now on.

Here it is, with my changes in italics:

Ingredients

    1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (definitely DON’T use whole wheat flour, ever! I tried this once and the pancakes were too chewy, thick and heavy)
    3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 tablespoon white sugar
    1 1/4 cups milk
    1 egg
    3 tablespoons butter, melted
    1 tsp vanilla essence
    1/2 C *or as desired* Ghiradelli’s (or any brand) dark chocolate chips

Directions
1.In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.
2.Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

Toppings
Frozen blueberries and/or strawberries tossed into a saucepan makes a lovely fruit topping
or
Fresh raspberries and powdered sugar on top of maple syrup.
Sometimes I like to spread Godiva chocolate spread over the pancakes…yep, it’s delicious.


Discussion

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

  1. here is so many inspirations!

    have a nice time!
    Paula

    Posted by Paula | August 20, 2010, 08:07
  2. Why must you plague us with delicious photos and then sign us up for yoga class?? I see your scheme!! (haha…oh you know I love them both)

    Posted by Lurgs | August 18, 2010, 01:32
  3. MmMmm!!! Gotta try it!!!

    Posted by Shirley | August 17, 2010, 13:45
  4. I had some pancakes this morning…but I wish now, I would make those…yummy…Next time:)…I could eat them all the time…hahahha

    Happy Tuesday my lovely:)

    Posted by Diana | August 17, 2010, 10:47
  5. UHHH…I have to try those pancakes! The recipe sounds delicious!
    Have a wonderful weekend my dear!
    Kisses

    Posted by Diana | May 8, 2010, 16:54

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: National Pancake Week (Feb 19 – 25) « Foodhogger - February 22, 2011

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Eats « Foodhogger - February 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

