//
you're reading...
Chocolates

Product: Mo’s Bacon Bar


Cost:  $10  (Thanks go out to A.L for telling me about this chocolate bar and buying it for all of us to try!)

MO'S_BACON_BAR

Everyone who knows me knows I love bacon.

I feast on the stuff at all-inclusive-vacation-buffets and am known to add it as a side to my french toast if it doesn’t already come with someone else’s breakfast (when that someone else doesn’t eat bacon).

So bacon chocolate, you say?

Why, it’s ultimately a chocolate bar with bacon bits.

Salty (a bit too much so) and sweet.

And strange.

I’m still undecided as to whether I liked it or not.  I’m certain I would not eat it all the time like my mint Aero, or even buy a whole bar for myself…but sharing and in small doses, it’s like an other-worldly-Willy-Wonka-esque chocolate bar that only your imaginary tastebuds could dream up.

I think the packaging could really use some work, too.  I guess the folks over at Vosges thought a greasy strip of bacon alongside a jaggedy-edged piece of chocolate with a few bacon bits tossed at the top left corner for good measure, would really sell the flavour of this unique bar.  And who the f*** is Mo?

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Product: Mo’s Bacon Bar

  1. your right about the cover. they shouldve had a miss piggy being dipped in a vat of hot chocolate on the cover.

    but seriously i think its a real challenge coming up with a packaging for this kind product

    Posted by ul | August 27, 2009, 11:45
  2. Ya, it’s interesting to try for a random splurge. The other Vosges gourmet bars are quite tasty tho:
    http://www.vosgeschocolate.com/category/exotic_candy_bars

    They can be found at the Mercantile store on Roncesvalles along with many other tasty treats:
    http://www.themercantile.ca/

    Posted by amy | August 27, 2009, 11:20
  3. hmmm….I haven’t tried it, but you’re right about the box. At first glance (without mi’glasses on) it looks really gross, like raw meat or a tongue or something. Didn’t look any better when I donned mi’specs either.

    Posted by Tam | August 27, 2009, 11:15

Leave a Reply

