//
you're reading...
Fish, Recipe

Recipe: Tilapia Curry


This is one of my favourite recipes. You can use frozen tilapia, but I prefer fresh tilapia fillets.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb tilapia fillet cut into 8 pieces
  • salt (to taste)
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 tsp garlic
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp corriander
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped
  • 4-6 green chillies
  • optional 1 green bell pepper (or any bell pepper)
  • water (enough to make some gravy)
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice

Preparation

– wash fish with water and then with lemon juice

– coat with salt, turmeric, chilli powder and set aside so that it can marinate for a bit

– chop ingredients in the meantime

– heat oil, saute fish and set aside

– fry onions, add garlic, ginger, a bit more red chilli powder, turmeric, cumin, corriander and stir fry

– add tomatoes and stir fry

– add salt

– add fish

– add green chillies, green pepper (optional) and water

– cover and cook 5-10 minutes

– add lemon juice

– simmer

Serve over brown (or white) rice -I prefer brown rice (Brown Basmati rice is great!)

Mmm..yummy!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Tilapia Curry

  1. Splendid recipe. A must repeat. I added double the garlic… but as a whole, this is a winner. Thank you for the suggestion.

    Posted by Gyula Gefin | November 11, 2011, 20:40
  2. I made it and liked it, I just think I used too much water so needed more flavoring to balance it out

    Posted by amber | October 7, 2011, 15:06
  3. I tried this recipe today. Hubby n me loved it. I saute’ed onions n tomatoes for a longer time. Added little dry mango powder and chilli flakes for more flavour .. loved ur recipe.. thnx 🙂

    Posted by vini | February 5, 2010, 15:55
  4. Have you guys tried it yet?? Let me know how it turns out.

    Posted by TP24 | May 30, 2008, 16:23
  5. Mmm, I’d love to try this recipe!

    Posted by maai | May 21, 2008, 07:20
  6. OMG I’m going to try this.
    I actually dreamed of Indian food last night. I don’t know why. Maybe because you read my mind.

    Again.

    Get out of my head!

    (Yes it hit 104F-110F depending on if you’re talking to me or Christina)

    Posted by akim_hobo | May 20, 2008, 17:15

Leave a Reply

